Local leaders

The LGA is a cross-party organisation led by local politicians.

One of the strengths of the LGA is that we are a membership organisation and member-led, with councillors directing our day-to-day activities and business, setting our long-term priorities and goals, and agreeing campaigns and strategies. 

This is reflected in our governance structures, with each of our four political groups – Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrat, and Independent – electing and providing the councillors who sit on our Board of Directors, the LGA Executive Advisory Board and our nine policy boards each year.

Representation is based on political proportionality. Following the May 2021 local elections, the Conservatives are the largest group at the LGA, on 39.85 per cent, with Labour on 35.8 per cent, the Liberal Democrats on 12.46 per cent, and the Independents on 11.89 per cent.

The chair, vice and deputy chairs of the LGA are nominated annually by the four political groups and approved by the LGA General Assembly. Together they form the Board of Directors, and direct the LGA’s activities, business and strategic priorities. 

The directors sit on and advise the LGA Executive Advisory Board, which also comprises the chairs of the policy boards, representatives of Wales and the nine English regions, additional members to maintain political balance, and non-voting representatives of the County Councils Network, District Councils’ Network, the Special Interest Group of Municipal Authorities, and Local Partnerships.

The Executive Advisory Board contributes to the development of LGA policy, represents the views of local government, supports the directors to set the LGA’s strategic direction, and holds the policy boards to account.

Board of Directors (LGA board)

Cllr James Jamieson (Con, Central Bedfordshire) was elected Chairman of the LGA in July 2019 and was previously Leader of the LGA’s Conservative Group from July 2018. He was first elected to Central Bedfordshire Council in 2009 and led the authority from 2011 to January 2021. james.jamieson@centralbedfordshire.gov.uk

Cllr Nick Forbes CBE (Lab, Newcastle) is the LGA’s Senior Vice-Chair and became Leader of the LGA’s Labour Group in 2015. He has been a Labour councillor since 2000 and was elected Leader of Newcastle City Council in 2011. nick.forbes@newcastle.gov.uk

Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE (Con, Warwickshire) was elected Leader of the LGA’s Conservative Group and became an LGA Vice-Chairman in July 2019. She was elected to Warwickshire County Council in 2001 and became its first female Leader in 2013. cllrseccombe@warwickshire.gov.uk

Cllr Joe Harris (Lib Dem, Cotswold) was elected Leader of the LGA Liberal Democrat Group and Vice-Chair of the LGA in July 2021. He was first elected to Cotswold District Council in 2011, aged 18, and has led it since 2019. He is also a member of Gloucestershire County Council. joe.harris@cotswold.gov.uk

Cllr Marianne Overton MBE (Ind, Lincolnshire) is an LGA Vice-Chair and has been Leader of the LGA’s Independent Group since 2011. She is Leader of the Lincolnshire Independents, Leader of the Opposition on North Kesteven District Council and also sits on Lincolnshire County Council. cllrm.overton@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Cllr Robert Alden (Con, Birmingham) is a Deputy Chairman of the LGA. First elected in 2006, he is Leader of the Conservative Group on Birmingham City Council. robert.alden@birmingham.gov.uk 

Cllr John Fuller OBE (Con, South Norfolk) is an LGA Deputy Chairman, Leader of South Norfolk District Council, and Chairman of the District Councils’ Network. jfuller@s-norfolk.gov.uk

Cllr Teresa O’Neill OBE (Con, Bexley) was first elected to the London Borough of Bexley in 1998 and became its Leader in 2008. She is an LGA Deputy Chairman. councillor.teresa.o’neill@bexley.gov.uk

Cllr Tudor Evans OBE (Lab, Plymouth) has served as a councillor continuously since 1988, is Leader of the Opposition at Plymouth City Council, and a Deputy Chair of the LGA. tudor.evans@plymouth.gov.uk

Cllr Georgia Gould (Lab, Camden), a councillor since 2010, is an LGA Deputy Chair, Leader of Camden Council, and Chair of London Councils. Georgia.Gould@camden.gov.uk

Cllr Shabir Pandor (Lab, Kirklees) was elected to Kirklees Council in 2002 and became its Leader in 2018. He is an LGA Deputy Chair. shabir.pandor@kirklees.gov.uk

Cllr Michael Payne (Lab, Gedling) is an LGA Deputy Chair, Deputy Leader of Gedling Borough Council, and a member of Nottinghamshire County Council. cllr.michael.payne@gedling.gov.uk

Cllr Bridget Smith (Lib Dem, South Cambridgeshire), an LGA Deputy Chair, is Leader of South Cambridgeshire District Council and sits on the Peterborough and Cambridgeshire Combined Authority. Cllr.BridgetSmith@scambs.gov.uk

Cllr Hannah Dalton (Residents’ Association, Epsom and Ewell) is Vice- Chair of Epsom and Ewell Borough Council’s Strategy and Resources Committee, and an LGA Deputy Chair. hdalton@epsom-ewell.gov.uk

Policy board chairs and other executive members

Cllr Kevin Bentley (Con, Essex) is Chairman of the LGA’s People and Places Board. First elected to Essex County Council in 2009, he became its Leader in May 2021.  cllr.kevin.bentley@essex.gov.uk

Cllr Peter Fleming OBE (Con, Sevenoaks) is Chairman of the LGA’s Improvement and Innovation Board and has been Leader of Sevenoaks District Council since 2005.  cllr.fleming@sevenoaks.gov.uk

Cllr David Fothergill (Con, Somerset) has been Leader of Somerset County Council since 2017 and became Chairman of the LGA’s Community Wellbeing Board in May 2021. djafothergill@somerset.gov.uk

Cllr David Renard (Con, Swindon) is Chairman of the LGA’s Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport Board. He has been Leader of Swindon Council since 2013. drenard@swindon.gov.uk 

Cllr Anntoinette Bramble (Lab, Hackney) is Chair of the LGA’s Children and Young People Board, Equalities Advocate for the LGA’s Executive Advisory Board, and Deputy Mayor at Hackney Council. anntoinette.bramble@hackney.gov.uk

Cllr Nesil Caliskan (Lab, Enfield) is Chair of the LGA’s Safer and Stronger Communities Board. Elected in 2015, she became Enfield’s first woman Leader in 2018, aged 29.  cllr.nesil.caliskan@enfield.gov.uk

Cllr Shaun Davies (Lab, Telford & Wrekin) is Chair of the LGA’s Resources Board. He has led Telford & Wrekin Council since 2016 and is an LGA member peer. shaun.davies@telford.gov.uk

Mayor Marvin Rees (Lab, Bristol) is Chair of the LGA’s City Regions Board. In 2016, he was the first mayor of black African heritage to be elected by a major European city.  mayor@bristol.gov.uk

Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE (Lib Dem, Portsmouth) is Chair of the LGA’s Culture, Tourism and Sport Board and Leader of Portsmouth City Council. He has been a councillor since 2003.  cllr.gerald.vernon-jackson@portsmouthcc.gov.uk

Wales and regional

Cllr Ralph Bagge (Con, South Bucks) is a regional representative substitute on the LGA Executive. He is Chairman of Buckinghamshire Council’s Finance and Resources Select Committee. Ralph.Bagge@buckinghamshire.gov.uk

Cllr Marc Bayliss (Con, Worcester) is Leader of Worcester City Council and Cabinet Member for Economy and Skills at Worcestershire County Council. He represents the West Midlands. mbayliss@worcester-research.co.uk

Cllr John Hart (Con, Devon) was first elected in 1989 and has been Leader of Devon County Council since 2009. He is Chairman of South West Councils. john.hart@devon.gov.uk 

Cllr Linda Haysey (Con, East Herts) has been Leader of East Herts District Council since 2015. She represents the East of England on the LGA’s Executive. linda.haysey@eastherts.gov.uk

Cllr Simon Henig CBE (Lab, Durham) represents the North East on the LGA Executive. First elected in 1999, he was Leader of Durham Council from 2008 to May 2021.  simon.henig@durham.gov.uk 

Cllr Peter John OBE (Lab, Southwark) represents London on the LGA’s Executive. He is a former Chair of London Councils and a former Leader of Southwark Council.  peter.john@southwark.gov.uk 

Cllr Rob Stewart (Lab, Swansea) represents Wales on the LGA’s Executive Advisory Board. He is Deputy Leader of the Welsh LGA and has led the City and County of Swansea since 2014.  cllr.rob.stewart@swansea.gov.uk

There are vacancies for regional representatives from the South East, North West, East Midlands, and Yorkshire and the Humber.

Non-voting members

Cllr Sir Stephen Houghton CBE (Lab, Barnsley) is Leader of Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council and Chair of the LGA’s Special Interest Group of Municipal Authorities (SIGOMA). cllrstephenhoughton@barnsley.gov.uk

Cllr Tim Oliver (Con, Surrey) became Chairman of the County Councils Network in June 2021. He is Leader of Surrey County Council and a former Leader of Elmbridge Borough Council. tim.oliver@surreycc.gov.uk

Alderman Sir David Wootton (Ind, City of London) is Chairman of Local Partnerships and a member of the City of London Corporation. david.wootton@cityoflondon.gov.uk

As first was going to press, the representative of the District Councils’ Network was to be confirmed.

The LGA’s political year runs from September to the following July. You can find out more about the LGA’s lead members, our governance arrangements, and policy and executive meetings by visiting our website.

Previous

VirtualSignature automates the deed signing and sealing process

Success stories

Next