Honours for LGA leaders

The LGA’s chairman and chief executive are among the local government recipients of New Year Honours.

Cllr James Jamieson has been made an OBE for services to local government, and Mark Lloyd a CBE for services to local government and charity.

Cllr Jamieson, a former Leader of Central Bedfordshire Council, was elected Leader of the LGA’s Conservative Group in 2018 and became the LGA’s cross-party chairman in July 2019. Cllr Jamieson OBE said: “Working in local government is a huge honour. I continue to be amazed and impressed by the dedication of all those involved, most notably during the current pandemic. 

“I would like to thank all those who have worked so hard and delivered for their residents, and, in particular, the contribution of all my colleagues at the LGA who have gone above and beyond.”

LGA Chief Executive Mark Lloyd began his local government career in 2000, joining Durham County Council and becoming its chief executive in 2005, before moving to Cambridgeshire County Council in 2008 and the LGA in 2015. 

Mr Lloyd CBE said: “I am really pleased and extremely humbled to receive this award. 

“I work with amazing people at the LGA and across the whole of local government. I am inspired every day by the tireless work of councillors and council staff to do the best for their communities up and down the country.”

Other awards included MBEs for Cllr John Clarke, Leader of Gedling Borough Council, and Robert Polhill, former Halton Borough Council Leader.


Private rented housing ‘converted to Airbnbs’

Winter package to protect social care