Local government honours

Cllr Nick Forbes, Leader of Newcastle City Council, and Cllr Sean Anstee, a member of the LGA’s City Regions Board, were both made CBEs for services to local government.

There was a damehood for Mary Ney, one of five commissioners appointed in 2015 to run Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council following the child sexual exploitation scandal. Also recognised was Ian Thomas, Rotherham’s former Director of Children’s Services, who becomes a CBE. He was appointed Chief Executive of the Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames in December.

Cllr Rory Love, Chairman of the Conservative Councillors’ Association, is made an OBE for public and political services. He is Cabinet Member for Customers and Digital Delivery at Folkstone & Hythe District Council, and a member of Kent County Council.

Cllr Ivan Ould (Con), Cabinet Member for Children and Young People at Leicestershire County Council, becomes an OBE, for services to local government. OBEs also went to Keith Ireland, former Managing Director of the City of Wolverhampton Council, for services to local government in the West Midlands; Janice Spencer, Assistant Director for Children’s Social Care at Lincolnshire County Council, for services to children’s social care; and Saleem Tariq, Deputy Director of Children and Families at Leeds City Council, for services to children’s services.

MBE recipients include Cllr Peter Edgar (Con), Executive Member for Education at Hampshire County Council, for services to education and the community in Gosport; and his colleague Cllr Rhydian Vaughan (Con) for public and political service. Martin Angus, a Political Adviser in the LGA’s Labour Group office, is made an MBE for political service.

For the full 2019 New Year’s Honours list, please visit www.gov.uk

There were more than 45,000 hospital operations to remove teeth in teenagers and children last…