Honours for councillors and local government officers

Several councillors and local government officers have been honoured by the Queen for service to their communities and local government.

Cllr Russell Goodway, currently Cabinet Member for Investment and Development at Cardiff City Council – and formerly Leader of South Glamorgan County Council – was made an OBE in the New Year’s Honours.

Cllr Philip Davis (Lab) has been rewarded for his work as a Heritage Champion with Birmingham City Council, while Cllr Neil Dallen (Residents’ Association) is recognised for services to young people at Epsom and Ewell Borough Council. Both become MBEs. 

Vivienne Rees, recently a member of South Lakeland District Council, received a British Empire Medal for services to the community in Cumbria.

Also recognised were former and current council chief executives Thomas Riordan CBE (Leeds City Council) and Lesley Seary CBE (formerly Islington Council), for services to local government; Kersten England CBE (City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council) for services to the economy and community; and Wallace Sampson OBE (Harrogate Borough Council), for services to business and the community.

Melanie Dawes, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government, becomes a Dame.

Nine foster carers have become MBEs, including Maureen and George Hughes, who have looked after children in Leeds for 16 years, and Carl and Diane Mitchell, from Blackpool, who have cared for more than 90 children across 20 years.



Public support for tourism levy

Inspectors call for fire reforms