On the board

The LGA is a membership organisation that works on behalf of councils in England and Wales to ensure local government has a strong, credible voice with central government.

We aim to influence and set the political agenda on the issues that matter to councils so they are able to deliver local solutions to national problems.
One of our strengths is that we are a politically led and cross-party organisation. This is reflected in our governance structures, with leadership and direction given by a senior group of councillors from each of our four political groups (Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrat, and Independent).

The LGA Executive plays a coordinating role, setting priorities and providing strategic direction to the association’s work. It is advised by the LGA Leadership Board (the LGA’s chair, vice-chairs and deputy chairs) and holds the LGA’s programme boards to account.

The LGA Executive is made up of the Leadership Board, plus the chairs of the boards, representatives of Wales and the English regions, balancing members and non-voting members – see below and right.

The Leadership Board directs the LGA’s day-to-day activities and business, in accordance with the strategic priorities and direction set by the LGA Executive, and also reports and makes recommendations to the executive.

Each year, the LGA Executive is reconstituted to reflect the outcome of the English and Welsh local elections. The LGA’s current political balance is: Conservative – 43.4 per cent; Labour – 38.8 per cent; Liberal Democrat – 9.7 per cent; and Independent – 8.1 per cent.

LGA leadership board

Lord Porter of Spalding CBE
(Con, South Holland) has been Chairman of the LGA since 2015 and Leader of South Holland District Council since 2003. He is a former Chairman of the District Councils’ Network and former Leader of the LGA’s Conservative Group.
gporter@sholland.gov.uk

Cllr Nick Forbes
(Lab, Newcastle) is the LGA’s Senior Vice-Chair and Leader of the LGA’s Labour Group. He has been a Labour councillor since 2000 and was elected Leader of Newcastle City Council in 2011.
nick.forbes@newcastle.gov.uk

Cllr James Jamieson
(Con, Central Bedfordshire) is an LGA Vice-Chairman and was elected Leader of the LGA’s Conservative Group earlier this year. He was first elected in 2009 and became Leader of Central Bedfordshire Council in 2011.
james.jamieson@centralbedfordshire.gov.uk

Cllr Howard Sykes MBE
(Lib Dem, Oldham) is an LGA Vice-Chair and was elected Leader of the LGA’s Liberal Democrat Group in 2017. He is a former Leader and Deputy Leader of Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council, and currently Leader of the Opposition.
howard.sykes@oldham.gov.uk

Cllr Marianne Overton MBE
(Ind, Lincolnshire) is an LGA Vice-Chair and has been Leader of the LGA’s Independent Group since 2011. She is Leader of the Lincolnshire Independents and sits on Lincolnshire County Council and North Kesteven District Council.
cllrm.overton@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Cllr Robert Alden
(Con, Birmingham) is an LGA Deputy Chairman. First elected in 2006, he is Leader of the Conservative Group on Birmingham City Council.
robert.alden@birmingham.gov.uk

Cllr Paul Carter CBE
(Con, Kent) is a Deputy Chairman of the LGA, Leader of Kent County Council, and Chairman of the County Councils Network.
paul.carter-leader@kent.gov.uk

Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE
(Con, Warwickshire) is an LGA Deputy Chairman. First elected in 2001, she became the first female Leader of Warwickshire County Council in 2013.
cllrmrsseccombe@warwickshire.gov.uk

Cllr David Simmonds CBE
(Con, Hillingdon) is a Deputy Chairman of the LGA and has been Deputy Leader of Hillingdon Council since 2002.
dsimmonds@hillingdon.gov.uk

Cllr Peter Box CBE
(Lab, Wakefield) is an LGA Deputy Chair and has been Leader of Wakefield Metropolitan Borough Council since 1998.
pbox@wakefield.gov.uk

Cllr Michael Payne
(Lab, Gedling) is an LGA Deputy Chair, Deputy Leader of Gedling Borough Council and a member of Nottinghamshire County Council.
cllr.michael.payne@gedling.gov.uk

Cllr Lib Peck
(Lab, Lambeth) is a Deputy Chair of the LGA. First elected in 2001, she has been the Leader of Lambeth Council since 2012.
lpeck@lambeth.gov.uk

Cllr Anne Western CBE
(Lab, Derbyshire) is an LGA Deputy Chair and former Leader of Derbyshire County Council. She was first elected in 1997.
anne.western@derbyshire.gov.uk

Cllr Ruth Dombey OBE
(Lib Dem, Sutton) is a Deputy Chair of the LGA. First elected in 2002, she has been the Leader of Sutton Council since 2012.
ruth.dombey@sutton.gov.uk

Cllr Clive Woodbridge
(Ind, Epsom and Ewell) is an LGA Deputy Chair and was Leader of Epsom and Ewell Borough Council for five years.
cwoodbridge@epsom-ewell.gov.uk

board chairs and other executive members

Cllr Peter Fleming OBE
(Con, Sevenoaks) is Chairman of the LGA’s Improvement and Innovation Board and has been Leader of Sevenoaks District Council since 2005.
cllr.fleming@sevenoaks.gov.uk

Cllr Mark Hawthorne MBE
(Con, Gloucestershire) is Chairman of the LGA’s People and Places Board, Leader of Gloucestershire County Council, and a former Leader of Gloucester City Council.
mark.hawthorne@gloucestershire.gov.uk

Cllr Ian Hudspeth
(Con, Oxfordshire) is Chairman of the LGA’s Community Wellbeing Board and Leader of Oxfordshire County Council. He was first elected in 2005, becoming Leader in 2012.
ian.hudspeth@oxfordshire.gov.uk

Cllr Martin Tett
(Con, Buckinghamshire) is Chairman of the LGA’s Environment, Economy, Housing and Transport Board and has led Buckinghamshire County Council since 2011.
mtett@buckscc.gov.uk

Cllr Simon Blackburn
(Lab, Blackpool) is Chair of the LGA’s Safer and Stronger Communities Board and has been Leader of Blackpool Council since 2011.
cllr.simon.blackburn@blackpool.gov.uk

Cllr Anntoinette Bramble
(Lab, Hackney) is Chair of the LGA’s Children and Young People Board, and Deputy Mayor and Cabinet Member for Education, Young People and Children’s Social Care at Hackney Council.
anntoinette.bramble@hackney.gov.uk

Cllr Sir Richard Leese CBE
(Lab, Manchester) is Chair of the LGA’s City Regions Board, Leader of Manchester City Council, and Greater Manchester Combined Authority’s Deputy Mayor for the Economy.
r.leese@manchester.gov.uk

Cllr Richard Watts
(Lab, Islington) is Chair of the LGA’s Resources Board and has been the Leader of Islington Council since 2013. He joined the council in 2006.
richard.watts@islington.gov.uk

Cllr Rishi Shori
(Lab, Bury) is a Balancing Member on the LGA’s Executive, a Deputy Chair of the LGA’s Culture, Tourism and Sport Board, and Leader and Cabinet Member for Economic Growth and Transport at Bury Council.
r.shori@bury.gov.uk

Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE
(Lib Dem, Portsmouth) is Chair of the LGA’s Culture, Tourism and Sport Board, and Leader of Portsmouth City Council.
geraldvj@gmail.com

Cllr Lucy Nethsingha
(Lib Dem, Cambridge) is a Balancing Member on the LGA’s Executive, and was elected to Cambridge City Council in 2016.
lucynethsingha@icloud.com

Cllr Robert Bucke
(Ind, Tendring) is a Balancing member on the LGA’s Executive, and was elected to Tendring District Council in 2015.
cllr.rbucke@tendringdc.gov.uk

non-voting members

Cllr Philip Atkins OBE
(Con, Staffordshire) represents the County Councils Network and is Leader of Staffordshire County Council.
philip.atkins@staffordshire.gov.uk

Cllr John Fuller
(Con, South Norfolk) is Chairman of the District Councils’ Network and Leader of South Norfolk District Council.
jfuller@s-norfolk.gov.uk

Cllr Sir Stephen Houghton CBE
(Lab, Barnsley) is Leader of Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council and Chair of the LGA’s Special Interest Group of Municipal Authorities (SIGOMA).
cllrstephenhoughton@barnsley.gov.uk

Alderman Sir David Wootton
(Ind, City of London) is Chairman of Local Partnerships and a member of the City of London Corporation.
david.wootton@cityoflondon.gov.uk

regional and Wales

Cllr David Finch
(Con, Essex) represents the East of England LGA. He is also a member of the LGA’s Resources Board and has been Leader of Essex County Council since 2013.
cllr.david.finch@essex.gov.uk

Cllr John Hart
(Con, Devon) has been Leader of Devon County Council since 2009 and is Chairman of South West Councils.
john.hart@devon.gov.uk

Cllr Barry Lewis
(Con, Derbyshire) represents East Midlands Councils. He is Derbyshire County Council’s Leader and Cabinet Member for Strategic Leadership, Culture and Tourism.
barry.lewis@derbyshire.gov.uk

Cllr Stephen Parnaby OBE
(Con, East Riding) has been Leader of the East Riding of Yorkshire Council since its inception in 1996, and represents Yorkshire and Humber at the LGA.
councillor.parnaby@eastriding.gov.uk

Cllr Roy Perry
(Con, Hampshire) is Chairman of South East England Councils and has been Leader of Hampshire County Council since 2013. He was first elected in 2005.
roy.perry@hants.gov.uk

Cllr Michael Wilcox
(Con, Lichfield) represents the West Midlands on the LGA’s Executive. He has been Leader of Lichfield District Council since 2010.
michael.wilcox@lichfielddc.gov.uk

Cllr Simon Henig CBE
(Lab, Durham) represents the North East on the LGA Executive. First elected in 1999, he has been Leader of Durham Council since 2008.
simon.henig@durham.gov.uk

Cllr Peter John OBE
(Lab, Southwark) is Chair of London Councils and Leader of Southwark Council. He is also a member of the LGA’s City Regions Board.
peter.john@southwark.gov.uk

Cllr Terry O’Neill
(Lab, Warrington) represents the North West Regional Leaders Board. He was first elected in 1991 and has been Leader of Warrington Borough Council since 2011.
toneill@warrington.gov.uk

Cllr Debbie Wilcox
(Lab, Newport) is the Leader of the Welsh LGA, Leader of Newport City Council, and also sits on the LGA’s City Regions Board.
debbie.wilcox@newport.gov.uk

You can find out more about your LGA Executive colleagues and other councillors who sit on the LGA’s boards by visiting www.local.gov.uk/about/our-meetings-and-leadership/lga-leadership.

Previous

Children self-harming figures are horrifying

Carers ‘putting their own health on the line’

Next